Loading Events

Date + Time

October 20, 2020 2:00pm - 3:00pm EDT

Co-hosted by Democracy Fund and Wellspring Philanthropic Fund  

Tuesday, October 20, 2020 | 2-3 PM ET | 1-2 PM CT | 12-1 PM MT | 11 AM-12 PM PT

Register here

From candidates receiving death threats because of their faith or race, to communities who are intimidated to vote, many people of color face credible and real threats to their participation in US elections. Nefarious actors are disseminating white nationalist propaganda and election misinformation through tech platforms at a scale not seen in previous election cycles. Public officials have emboldened extremist organizations by openly targeting people of color and failing to regulate malicious content online. Despite these visible trends in digital spaces, communities of color are organizing to protect their right to vote as a critical form of civic participation. Join us to discuss how digital platform accountability and online voter suppression are impacting democracy in a rapidly changing environment, and learn about the strategies advocates are deploying to mitigate the harmful effects on the electorate.

 Discussants:

  • Daniella Flores, Wellspring Philanthropic Fund and Paul Waters, Democracy Fund (co-moderators)
  • Leigh Chapman, Voting Rights Program, Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights 
  • Farhana Khera, Muslim Advocates
  • Laura Edelson, New York University Tandon School Online Political Ads Transparency Project
  • Joan Donovan, Harvard Kennedy School Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics and Public Policy

Cosponsors: Chesapeake Bay Funders Network, Council of New Jersey Grantmakers, Economic Opportunity Funders, Environmental Grantmakers Association, Grantmakers Concerned with Immigrants and Refugees, Maryland Philanthropy Network, Philanthropy New York, and United Philanthropy Forum

Disclaimer

As with all FCCP events, the subject matter is strictly limited to non-partisan discussion as outlined in the agenda.