Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Date + Time

October 23, 2018 12:00pm - 1:00pm EDT

Software Map + Directions

Online Access Provided with Registration

An Urgent Threat to Freedom of Assembly in Washington DC
Tuesday, October 23rd | 12 – 1 PM ET | 9 – 10 AM PT

Register Now!

Newly proposed National Park Service regulations governing protest on federal lands in Washington DC would drastically curtail freedom of assembly in the nation’s capital. From closing down protest in front of the White House, to charging exorbitant amounts for permits, to making the process to obtain permits significantly longer and more difficult, this new proposed regulatory plan has the potential to silence the voices of grantees of all of our foundations, no matter what issue we address. If implemented, these regulations could dramatically alter participatory democracy and free speech not just in DC, but also become a national model for other jurisdictions looking to shut down dissent.

Please join us on Tuesday, October 23 at 9 am PT / noon ET to learn more about this threat to the right to protest, and about urgent organizing and litigation efforts underway to respond.

Co-sponsored by: the CS Fund, Piper Fund, Open Society Foundations, Wallace Global Fund, and the Funders’ Committee for Civic Participation.

Disclaimer

As with all FCCP events, the subject matter is strictly limited to non-partisan discussion as outlined in the agenda.