Tuesday, February 1, 2022 | 3 – 4 PM ET | 2 – 3 PM CT | 1 – 2 MT | 12 – 1 PM PT 

 

Please find this recording and slides available as resources.

 

During this conversation, discussants shared Black narrative research findings that examined what factors and narrative frames inform how Black people view political engagement and politics. This work builds on a set of research conducted with New Georgia Project, Power PA, and Detroit Action in 2020 that further developed how narratives focused on Black political power were important for building Black political engagement. In 2021, research continued to explore the importance of the power narrative, as well as other factors that might inform Black political engagement including civic education, political efficacy, threats to Black political power, and political homes.  Research included particular states and has been deployed through national surveys.  In this session we heard about key findings, as well as how organizations are using the research to inform their organizing programs and ways that it can help strengthen related narrative and messaging efforts.

 

Discussants:

  • Ranada Robinson, New Georgia Project
  • Katrina Gamble, Sojourn Strategies
  • Terrance Woodbury, HIT Strategies
  • Julie Fernandes, Rockefeller Family Fund (moderator)