February First Monday Discussion
Monday, February 4th | 2 – 3:15 PM ET | 1 – 2:15 PM CT | 12 – 1:15 PM MT | 11 – 12:15 PM PT

As the 116th Congress kicks off and the 2020 Presidential race begins in earnest, advocates, policymakers and candidates have the opportunity to set the stage for advancing an economic agenda featuring climate-forward jobs and key priorities. The Green New Deal launched by the rapidly growing Sunrise Movement is part of a vibrant ecosystem of campaigns and organizations calling for good jobs, climate justice, clean infrastructure, and transformative economic change. The diverse coalition around the Millions of Jobs campaign has similarly called for massive public investments in infrastructure to generate millions of decent jobs and prioritize racial and gender equity, climate justice, and worker protections. Recent survey results reveal public, bipartisan support for the broad principles outlined in the GND and Millions of Jobs concepts: securing 100% clean, renewable energy by 2030; investing in communities on the frontlines of poverty and pollution; upgrading the nation’s energy grid, buildings, and transportation infrastructure. These priorities are motivating to a variety of constituencies; they are also economically sound. Join us for a deep dive into these fast-breaking movements and how policy leaders and organizations are collaborating to propel their work for the future.

 

Recording Here (FCCP Members Only)

 

Moderated by:  Ellen Dorsey, Wallace Global Fund [bio]

Speakers:

Joseph Stiglitz, Nobel Laureate in Economics, Roosevelt Institute [bio]
Varshini Prakash, Sunrise Movement [slides] [bio]
Maurice Mitchell, Working Families Organization [slides] [bio]
Ben Beachy, Sierra Club’s A Living Economy Program [slides] [bio]

Co-sponsors:  Chesapeake Bay Funders Network, Climate and Energy Funders Group/BFG, Economic Opportunity Funders, Environmental Grantmakers Association, Grantmakers Concerned with Immigrants and Refugees, Grantmakers of Western Pennsylvania, Health & Environmental Funders Network, Neighborhood Funders Group, Philanthropy New York, Sustainable Agriculture & Food Systems Funders, Women Donors Network 

This briefing is offered free of charge and is open to funders and philanthropic advisors only.