Racial Equity: Changing Power Dynamics in Philanthropy

This summer, FCCP is excited to bring you a brand new opportunity, the Summer Equity + Power Sharing Series, which will explore different integrations of racial equity, building power throughout democratic ecosystems, and improving philanthropy’s corresponding role in as much. Together, we will examine changes in practices after the 2016 elections, stand alone vs. integrated approaches to this work, and how we can change grantmaking strategies for the better.

Centering racial equity is critical to supporting and building power throughout philanthropy. In recent years, our understanding of how to best to actually center racial equity throughout our efforts has evolved and is increasingly touching all areas of our work, from organizing and structural reforms to money in politics and more.

Our July discussion will interrogate how evaluation frameworks can perpetuate or improve power dynamics between grantees and grantmakers, and our August program will focus on a case study, such as the intended and unintended consequences that funders can have on movement building.

We hope that you will join us for all three important conversations!

REGISTER FOR THE JULY DISCUSSION HERE

For resources from our June discussion on racial equity, click here

A very special thank you to our cosponsors: Economic Opportunity Funders, Environmental Grantmakers Association, Grantmakers Concerned with Immigrants and Refugees, Health and Environmental Funders Network, Intentional Endowments Network, Maryland Philanthropy Network, Native Americans in Philanthropy, Neighborhood Funders Group, NEO Philanthropy, Northern California Grantmakers, Philanthropy Network Greater Philadelphia, Philanthropy New York, Philanthropy Northwest, United Philanthropy Forum, and Women Donors Network.

This series is offered free of charge thanks to FCCP members’ financial support. It is open to funders and philanthropic advisors only. 

Registration and Resources

Click Here for July Discussion Registration

Monday, July 15 | 2 – 3 PM ET | 1 – 2 PM CT | 11 AM – 12 PM MT | 10 – 11 AM PT

Click Here for August Discussion Registration

Monday, August 5 | 3 – 4 PM ET | 2 – 3 PM CT | 1 – 2 PM MT | 12 – 1 PM PT

June Discussion – Racial Equity: Changing Power Dynamics in Philanthropy

Monday, June 10 | 3 – 4:15 PM ET | 2 – 3:15 PM CT | 1 – 2:15 PM MT | 12 – 1:15 PM PT

SLIDES AND RECORDING FROM THE JUNE DISCUSSION

Helpful Resources:

June Cosponsors: Justice Funders and Philanthropic Initiative for Racial Equity.