Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Date + Time

September 9, 2021 3:00pm - 4:00pm EDT

Type

Thursday, September 9, 2021 | 3-4 PM ET | 2-3 PM CT | 1-2 PM MT | 12-1 PM PT

Register here

As aspects of public life have increasingly moved online and profound shifts in our spheres of public discourse continue to evolve, organizers and newsrooms have been compelled and at times forced to add digital advocacy and trainings to their skill sets to respond to the proliferation of racism, misogyny, and mis and disinformation against communities of color.  These digital environments are controlled by a handful of companies with dramatic consequences for our media and movement ecosystems that rely on social media to effectively reach their audiences. For the media, this has meant developing new practices around engagement and community building on and offline. For movements and organizing, this has required navigating Big Tech platforms in ways that can be helpful to their work while being cognizant of harms to their members. Knowing this, how can community and local conversations online and offline encourage free and open realms for expression?  How can we foster and develop community advocates? And how can funders work with media and movements to support their work in holding Big Tech accountable in their gatekeeper role?  

Discussants

  • Jacquelyn Mason, Media Democracy Fund
  • Mazin Sidahmed, Documented NY
  • Nora Benavidez, Free Press
  • Paul Waters, Democracy Fund

Disclaimer

As with all FCCP events, the subject matter is strictly limited to non-partisan discussion as outlined in the agenda.