Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Date + Time

July 27, 2020 2:00pm - 4:00pm EDT

Monday, July 27 | 2 PM ET | 1 PM CT | 12 PM MT | 11 AM PT

Register here

The 2021-2022 redistricting cycle that follows the 2020 Census offers communities an opportunity to address systemic inequities and achieve fair distribution of resources and representation for the next decade. Racial gerrymandering (the drawing of district lines so as to dilute an ethnic community’s fair representation) has occurred through redistricting processes across the country over decades; it is a modern-day form of voter suppression and a tool that reinforces institutional racism.

Join FCCP and the Fair Representation in Redistricting initiative for an engaging panel discussion to understand the implications of redistricting on racial equity, how groups are organizing to ensure fair representation, and how funders can engage to support this critical, nonpartisan, democracy work.

Moderator

  • Evan Bacalao, Program Officer, Special Initiatives and Partnerships, Open Society Foundations

Speakers

  • Prentiss Haney, Executive Director, Ohio Student Association
  • Rachel Mayes, Executive Director, Southern Echo
  • Gilda (Gigi) Pedraza, Executive Director, Latino Community Fund (LCF Georgia)

Cosponsors: Chesapeake Bay Funders Network, Climate and Energy Funders Group, Council of New Jersey Grantmakers, Economic Opportunity Funders, Environmental Grantmakers Association, Florida Philanthropic Network, Grantmakers Concerned with Immigrants and Refugees, Health & Environmental Funders Network, Hispanics in Philanthropy, Maryland Philanthropy Network, NY Funders Alliance, Philanthropy Massachusetts, Philanthropy Network Greater Philadelphia, Philanthropy New York, United Philanthropy Forum, Washington Regional Association of Grantmakers

Note: This webinar is open only to those affiliated with a philanthropic institution, e.g. foundation, affinity group, donor advisor, etc.

Disclaimer

As with all FCCP events, the subject matter is strictly limited to non-partisan discussion as outlined in the agenda.