Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Date + Time

October 22, 2018 1:00pm - 2:00pm EDT

Software Map + Directions

Online Access Provided with Registration
Supporting Infrastructure for a Just Florence Recovery
Monday, October 22nd | 1-2 PM ET | 12-1 PM CT | 11-12 PM MT | 10 – 11 AM PT
 

A month after Hurricane Florence’s landfall, people in Eastern North Carolina who were still recovering from Hurricane Matthew in 2016 (particularly black, brown, and low-income communities) are now even more uncertain about their short- and long-term futures. Corporate actors who made Florence’s flood waters toxic refuse to move industrial waste sites out of the flood plain, the General Assembly is indecisive about funding a full and equitable recovery package, long-term residents fear they’ll be priced out of newly developed properties, and with a critical election fast-approaching survivors are concerned about overcoming challenges to access the ballot.

Please join us for this discussion on how philanthropy can support recovery efforts in the short and long-term. 

 
Topics will include:

  • Reflection from frontline organizers about trends on-the-ground
  • The role of existing networks, specifically civic engagement infrastructure, in rapid response
  • Lessons learned from integrating disaster relief to a long-term strategy for addressing key issues (climate crisis & health, corporate accountability, civic engagement, and affordable housing) 

Sponsors: Hosted by Blueprint NC, Funders Committee for Civic Participation, the Just Florence Recovery Collective, the Mary Reynolds Babcock Foundation, State Voices, and Southeastern Council of Foundations.

Disclaimer

As with all FCCP events, the subject matter is strictly limited to non-partisan discussion as outlined in the agenda.