Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Date + Time

March 18, 2019 12:00pm - 1:00pm EDT

Monday, March 18th | 12 – 1 PM ET | 11 AM– 12 PM CT | 10 – 11 AM MT | 9 – 10 AM PT

Register Now!

On February 11, 2019, President Trump declared a national emergency to secure funding to build a wall along the U.S.-Mexico border. Congress stands at the brink of the first-ever bi-partisan rebuke of a presidential executive order, though a vote has not yet been called. There are insufficient votes to override an expected presidential veto. At the same time, a series of lawsuits have been initiated in response to the presidential declaration.  We and Grantmakers Concerned with Immigrants and Refugees (GCIR) invite you to join us for a critical discussion on what is at stake when a president declares an emergency in these circumstances and the impact on democratic institutions.

SPEAKERS

MODERATOR

 

Register Now!

 

This briefing is offered free of charge thanks to FCCP members’ financial support.  It is open to funders and philanthropic advisors only.

Disclaimer

As with all FCCP events, the subject matter is strictly limited to non-partisan discussion as outlined in the agenda.