Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Date + Time

April 1, 2019 3:00pm - 4:00pm EDT

Monday, April 1st | 3 – 4 PM ET | 2 – 3 PM CT | 1 – 2 PM MT | 12 – 1 PM PT

Register Now!

During 2018’s midterm elections, the electorate is estimated to have experienced the highest youth turnout in 25 years.  Between this recent election and preparing for 2020, youth organizing groups are innovating and experimenting with bold new strategies to build power.  From young people of color leading the way on immigrant rights and the school to prison pipeline, to post Parkland mobilizations and the Sunrise movement, these pacesetters are expanding scale, building alliances, and developing leaders.  At the same time, funding for youth engagement often peaks around election cycles and disappears. To address some of our country’s biggest challenges, we will discuss how robust, year round investment in young people’s leadership that joins electoral and issue focused efforts, and advances a strong connection between young people and adult organizations can benefit the work already being done.  

In this conversation, we will highlight creative approaches, trends, and funding for supporting youth leaders and organizations.  Hear directly from young leaders about the cutting edge strategies they are employing, and where they see opportunities to build on the progress made in 2018.  

SPEAKERS

MODERATOR

  • Eric Braxton, Funders’ Collaborative on Youth Organizing

Register Now!

Cosponsors:  Grantmakers Concerned with Immigrants and Refugees, Philanthropy New York

This briefing is offered free of charge thanks to FCCP members’ financial support.  It is open to funders and philanthropic advisors only.

Disclaimer

As with all FCCP events, the subject matter is strictly limited to non-partisan discussion as outlined in the agenda.