Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Date + Time

March 21, 2022 3:00pm - 4:00pm EDT

Monday, March 21 | 3 – 4  PM ET | 2 – 3 PM CT | 1 – 2 PM MT | 12 – 1 PM PT

Register here.

Immediate changes are underway in 2022 from big tech companies like Facebook and Apple that will impact how civic engagement efforts reach people online. And this year will also see moves made by the telecom carriers that could upend established practices from 2020. These will have direct implications for how national and state organizations run civic engagement programs, and will impact voter registration, mobilization, and nonpartisan voter communication outreach efforts.

Simultaneously, organizers face an increasingly complex media and disinformation social media ecosystem. If not adequately addressed, these changes could be detrimental to civic engagement programs, ultimately leading to avoidable voter suppression and apathy particularly amongst people of color, young people, older adults, rural communities, and those not as familiar with digital communications.

This session will do a primer on the lay of the land for the year ahead, and offer actionable recommendations.

Discussants

  • Arisha Hatch, Color of Change
  • Tim Lim, digital strategist
  • Xena Ni, Trestle Collaborative
  • Nick Chedli Carter, Resilient Democracy (moderator)

Disclaimer

As with all FCCP events, the subject matter is strictly limited to non-partisan discussion as outlined in the agenda.