April First Monday Call: Election Reform As A Strategy For Building Power In Communities Of Color

Monday, April 5th, 3-4pm ET/ 2-3pm CT/ 12-1pm PT

Historically, election laws and practices were often erected as barriers to the participation of communities of color in states throughout our nation. Rather than establishing a level playing field for all, laws and regulations have entrenched those in power. Yet, community groups across the country are beginning to use recently enacted reforms to build a political base and expand voter participation. Please join FCCP as leaders in these communities share their insights on how they have employed instant-runoff voting, public financing of political campaigns and same-day voter registration to amplify the voice of their neighborhoods and how foundations can build on their success.

Call Organizer and Moderator:
• Guillermo Quinteros, Program Officer, Solidago Foundation (Northampton, Massachusetts) [bio]

Speakers:
• Esperanza Tervalon-Daumont, Executive Director, Oakland Rising (Oakland, California) [bio]
• Tomás Garduño, Director of Mass Base Organizing, SouthWest Organizing Project (Albuquerque, New Mexico) [bio]
• Erin Byrd, Civic Engagement Coordinator, Blueprint NC (Raleigh, North Carolina) [bio]

Please note that the subject matter of FCCP funder-only calls is strictly limited to discussion of nonpartisan civic participation work as set forth in the agenda.

credits | terms of use | contact us | © 2010 Funders' Committee for Civic Participation | 221 NW Second Avenue, Suite 207 Portland, OR 97209 | P: 503-505-5703